When driving a State of Connecticut registered vehicle, the following minimum insurance coverage is required:
GSC section 14-112a

  • Auto Insurance policy with limits of at least 20/40/10 – meaning:
    • Liability coverage
    • $20,000 of bodily injury to another person
    • $40,000 of bodily injuries to all other persons in any one accident
    • $10,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
    • Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage
    • $20,000 per person
    • $40,000 per accident
  • Although personal injury protection, comprehensive, and collision insurance is not required by the State of Connecticut, many drivers choose to purchase them in order to cover any expenses they may accumulate from an accident.

Alternative Options to Insurance:

Certificates of Self-Insurance are available in Connecticut if the following requirements are met:
GSC section 14-129

  • You or your company must have at least 26 registered vehicles
  • You must qualify by application through the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles
    • Commissioner of Motor Vehicles
    • Department of Motor Vehicles
    • 60 State Street
    • Wethersfield, CT 06161

In Connecticut, you have the option to use a surety bond, collateral, or cash deposit instead of insurance if the following requirements are met:
GSC section 14-112b,j

  • Cash deposit filed with the State Treasurer in the amount determined by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles
  • Collateral filed with the State Treasurer in the amount determined by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles
  • Surety bond made with a company licensed to do business in Connecticut in the amount determined by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles

Required Proof of Insurance in Connecticut

Insurance Card provided by Insurance company including all of the following:
GSC section 38a-364

  • Name of insurance company
  • Insurance policy number
  • Effective date and expiration date of policy
  • Accurate description of year, make, model, and vehicle identification number of registered vehicle(s)
  • Name of insured driver

Certificates of Self-Insurance are issued by the state and must include the following:

  • Certificate number issued by Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Effective date of certificate
  • “All owned vehicles”
  • This is in place of a description of all registered vehicles
  • Name of driver covered by certificate
  • Certificate of Deposit/Collateral
  • Certificate number issued by State Treasurer
  • Name of driver covered by certificate of deposit
  • Surety Bond
  • Name of company issuing bond
  • Bond number
  • Name of driver covered by bond

Connecticut State Department of Motor Vehicles

Commissioner of Motor Vehicles – Melody A. Currey
Department of Motor Vehicles
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
860-263-5700

Obtaining a Driver’s License

Here are the requirements to obtain your learner’s permit:

Here are the requirements to obtain your driver’s license for residents 16 to 17 years old:

  • Complete driver education by one of the following methods:
    • Complete 30 hours of classroom instruction, including the Safe Driving Practices course, at a commercial driving school, and 2 hours of training with a parent or legal guardian
    • Complete 30 hours of classroom instruction, including the Safe Driving Practices course, in a secondary school driver education program, and 2 hours of training with a parent or legal guardian
    • Complete 22 hours of classroom instruction at home, the 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course at a commercial driving school or a secondary school, and 2 hours of practice with a parent or legal guardian
    • Complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice with a licensed  instructor or a licensed parent
    • Have your learner’s permit for at least 120 to 180 days, depending on type of behind-the-wheel training you received
  • You can apply for a driver’s license after having your permit for 120 days only if you have completed at least 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training at a commercial driving school or secondary school licensed by Connecticut
  • Pass the driving test
  • The driving test is offered at some of the commercial or secondary schools, in which case you will not be required to take the test when applying for your license
  • Pay the test fee of $40 (subject to change) if you had to take the driving test
  • Complete Certificate of Parental Consent
  • Complete the application for a driver’s license
  • Pay the license fee of $72 or $84 (subject to change)
  • Acceptable forms of payment vary between locations

Here are the requirements to obtain your first license for residents 18 years old or older:

  • Complete the application for a driver’s license
  • Complete an 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course
  • Pass the knowledge test based on the Connecticut Driver’s Manual
  • Pass vision test
  • Pass driving test
    • You have to pass the knowledge test and then make an appointment to take the driving test. The two will not be given on the same day.
  • Pay the test fee of $40 (subject to change)
  • Pay the license fee of $72 or $84 (subject to change)

The following documents are required for application:

Completing Driver Education

When a person reaches the age of 16, they may enroll in a Driver Education Program. To be eligible, a student must have a learner’s permit issued by the State of Connecticut

There are three ways to complete driver education:

  • Commercial Driving School:
    • 30 hours of classroom instruction
    • 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course
    • 2 hours of training with a parent or legal guardian
    • At least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice
    • Secondary School Driver Education
    • 30 hours of classroom instruction
    • 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course
    • 2 hours of training with a parent or legal guardian
    • At least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice
    • At-Home Driver Education
    • 22 hours of classroom instruction at home
    • 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course at a commercial driving school or a secondary school
    • 2 hours of training with a parent or legal guardian
    • At least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice

    It is recommended that you research any driver education school before you enroll. You want to make sure they meet the following standards:

    • Instructors are licenses and have certificates from the State of Connecticut (GSC section 14-69)
    • They meet the state curriculum requirements
    • Check if they have received any disciplinary action for violations
    • Make sure there are enough instructors to meet student needs

    The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles provides a list of state-approved commercial and secondary schools.

    Knowing the Rules of the Road

    Connecticut traffic laws can be found online in Section 14 of the Connecticut Statutes. Carefully obey these laws to quality for the lowest possible car insurance rates.

    There are specific laws for 16- to 17-year-old drivers provided by the Department of Motor Vehicles

    The laws regarding traffic in Connecticut include:

Residents of Connecticut generally fall into one of three insurance coverage markets: preferred, standard, and non-standard. The preferred market is reserved for drivers with good driving records and offers the lowest premiums, and it is these drivers who will enjoy the lowest auto insurance rates in Connecticut. The standard market is reserved for drivers with fair driving records and offers median premiums, which can still be affordable car insurance in Connecticut. The non-standard market is reserved drivers who are considered high-risk for reasons including less experience, multiple traffic violations, multiple insurance claims, and/or at least one drunk driving offense. The non-standard market offers the highest premiums.

Know Your Rates

Auto insurance policies are not offered in flat-rate packages. Instead, the rates are calculated by carefully considering several factors, including:

  • Age. Studies show that individuals younger than 25 are involved in more traffic accidents than those older than 25. Therefore, drivers under 25 years old are considered a higher risk and typically have to pay higher rates for insurance.
  • Gender. Statistical evidence indicates that males under the age of 25 are involved in more accidents than females in the same age group, so male drivers typically pay higher insurance rates than female drivers.
  • Driving record and claims history. Multiple accidents, tickets, and insurance claims cause an individual’s level of risk to increase. For this reason, those whose driving records are filled with infractions will see higher insurance rates. The insurance company you are applying with can request information about your claims and payment histories from your previous insurance company.
  • Credit history. In order to determine the likelihood that individuals will make their payments, insurance companies look at credit history. The better the credit score is, the lower the insurance rate may be, so those with good scores will typically enjoy low cost car insurance in Connecticut.
  • Marital status. Evidence taken from recent studies proves that single people have more accidents than married couples, so married couples may be offered lower insurance rates.
  • Geographical area. Areas that have high numbers of traffic accidents are considered hazardous areas, resulting in higher insurance rates for people who live in them due the increased possibility of having a collision. The likelihood of vehicles getting stolen or vandalized increases in areas with high crime rates. Therefore, individuals living in these areas will have to pay higher insurance rates to compensate for the higher risk.
  • Vehicle use. The frequency and distance of your daily commute can affect your rates. The more you drive, the higher rates may be due to the increased chance of having an accident. Also, parking your vehicle in a secure location, like a garage, decreases the risk of theft, which can lower your rates.
  • Make and model of the vehicle. Higher value of a vehicle increases the chance of theft and higher performance increases the chance of an accident. Therefore, drivers have to pay higher rates to cover expensive and high-performance vehicles.

Lower Your Rates

Speak with an insurance company, agent, or broker and find out exactly what your insurance plan will cover for the price you are paying so that you are getting the best coverage for the best price. Speak with multiple companies, agents, and brokers and shop around. Make sure that the company you are considering is approved and registered to do business in Connecticut by looking for them on the state approved list. If you are suspicious about any insurance company, call the Connecticut Insurance Department at 800-203-3447. In addition, if an agent or company attempts to sell ERISA or union plans, contact the Office of the Insurance Commissioner to report the activity.

You can often qualify for discounted insurance rates by meeting certain criteria, such as installing safety devices on your vehicle, having a good driving record, or taking a driver education course. Ask about discounts that a company may offer and see if you are eligible. Remember, companies may not advertise all of the discounts they offer, so it’s always best to ask, and doing so will ensure that you receive the best auto insurance rates in Connecticut.

In addition, pay close attention to your other insurance plans. Some plans, such as medical insurance, can overlap in coverage areas with your auto insurance plans.

Picking an Insurance Agent or Broker

An insurance agent works for an insurance company and sells policies for commission. An insurance broker is hired by individual clients, assesses their clients’ needs, and finds the right insurance policy from the right insurance company for them. Brokers receive commission for the sales they make from different insurance companies. Keep in mind that the commission that agents and brokers make is based on a percentage of the premium you pay. Therefore, the more you pay, the more they make.

Whether you use an agent or broker, make sure that they are licensed with the Connecticut Insurance Department. In addition, you can request information, such as disciplinary actions, about the agent, broker, or company from the Department. Contact the Connecticut Insurance Department at 800-203-3447.

The Insurance Department also provides consumers with a list of approved sources of information regarding the automobile industry. This will allow consumers to research and obtain the information they need from reliable sources.

If you have had issues with an insurance company, agent, or broker, you can file a complaint online with the Insurance Department. You can ask a question online, such as the license status of an insurance company, why your claim has been denied, why your insurer cancelled your policy, or even if you simply have a question about your policy.

After an Accident

If you have been involved in a collision, the first thing you should do is check for injuries. Then, you must immediately notify the Connecticut State Patrol, city police, or county sheriff. If you or someone else is injured, let the police know that there are injuries on the scene and that emergency medical services are needed. If able, render aid to anyone who is injured. Also, if the vehicles are moveable, make sure they are not blocking traffic. Exchange names, addresses, driver’s license information, vehicle information, and insurance information with the other driver(s) involved, even if he or she has no car insurance in Connecticut. Also, get the names and contact information of any witnesses. If you are able, take pictures of the vehicles involved and and the scene of the accident. Drivers should stay at the scene of the collision until released by the police. To expedite procedures, be prepared to give the police a thorough account of the events leading up to the collision. Remember to keep all of this information for your own accident report. If the police do not respond to the accident, you will need to go to one of the stations and file a report. Failure to deliver an accident report in cases where the property or vehicle damage is more than $1,000, or if there is an injury or loss of life involved could lead to the suspension of your license or driving permit.

You must also report the incident to your insurance company as soon as possible. Your insurance company will be able to use the police report, but they will also want your report. Closely follow your company’s procedures for filing a claim. Give all information you obtained from the other driver(s) and witnesses. You should also be prepared to report the extent of the damage to both cars, the cause of the accident, and what happened during the accident. If you took any pictures, submit them to your insurance company. Any police report filed must also be copied and sent to your insurance company.

When all of your information has been received, your insurance company will investigate your claim and come to a decision within 30 days. If your claim is delayed, the insurance company must notify you. In the event that your claim is denied, your insurance company will notify you in writing. If there is an unreasonable delay and you have not received any notification, contact your insurance company. If the issue is still not resolved, contact the Connecticut Insurance Department at 800-203-3447.

If the other driver involved in the accident was at fault and you had to use your insurance to cover your expenses, your insurance company may seek subrogation from the at-fault driver’s insurance company in order to recover the money. During this process, you should provide your insurance company with full cooperation to ensure that this process goes smoothly. Notify your insurance company if you intend to settle with the at-fault driver or their insurance company.

Insurance for High-Risk Drivers

Your driving record may make it difficult for you to receive insurance coverage, especially if you have a history of accidents, tickets, or drunk driving, but according to the law, you have to have insurance in Connecticut. The average cost of car insurance in Connecticut will undoubtedly be higher for those with less-than-sterling records. Therefore, the State of Connecticut makes it possible for even driver’s with poor records to obtain insurance coverage by offering the Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan. This plan is in accordance with GSC section 38a-329 and specifically covers drivers in Connecticut who are having trouble finding coverage due to their driving records. In order to qualify, you must prove that you have tried to get insurance coverage in Connecticut and have been unsuccessful.

Additional Help

The Connecticut Insurance Department offers to consumers. They will answer inquiries related to insurance, investigate complaints, educate consumers on insurance law and procedures, and enforce insurance law on the consumer’s behalf if needed. You can contact them at 800-203-3447.

Online resources include: